Sarah Defies Gravity

what one little chromosome taught me about love, life, and defying gravity.

R-E-M-I-S-S-I-O-N, find out what it means to me

Yes, it’s true…after three rounds of chemo, Sarah’s levels are good enough that she is officially considered “in remission”! We are so excited. Everything is looking so beautiful for us right now–Sarah is in remission, things with Dec and I are better than ever, and all of the negative emotions that were consuming me are starting to go away.

This isn’t the end of the road, of course, just the next leg of the journey. Sarah will now undergo 24 months of maintenance chemotherapy. This will be conducted outpatient and will be a lot easier on us than the treatment has been, but she’s still “sick”. We’re remaining positive about the outcome of maintenance chemo and not worrying yet about relapse or any other nasties. We’re going to enjoy this rather more pleasant leg of the journey and having our sweet, brave fighter baby at home with us!

I’m planning on doing a little post about Sarah’s development and how it was affected by the hospitalization, treatment, etc a little later on, but i just had to blog the good news!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “R-E-M-I-S-S-I-O-N, find out what it means to me

  1. What a little fighter you have! Yay, Sarah! So, so happy you get to go HOME. Enjoy time with your daddies, sweet girl.

  2. I’m crying I’m so happy for all three of you!

  3. tracey on said:

    yay! Glad to read an update about your sweetie that is great news!

  4. almostsanity on said:

    Glad to hear this.

  5. What incredible news! So so happy for your family. Can’t wait to hear about her out-of-hospital adventures!

  6. Anne on said:

    Hooray!!! So happy for your little family and your little fighter šŸ™‚

  7. Michelle on said:

    Your positivity is beautiful. Sarah is so lucky to have you as her “mom” (silly girl).

    You’re an amazing person and father. I’m always routing for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

