Sarah Defies Gravity

what one little chromosome taught me about love, life, and defying gravity.

I was going to be discharged from the hospital once. And then I took an arrow to the knee.

(sorry, I couldn’t resist the overused meme/Skyrim reference there….nobody took an arrow to the knee!)

So, Sarah’s journey to be discharged this time around seems like it’s neverending. We may be at the light at the end of the tunnel, but we’re also going to have to come back in two weeks or less for treatment, so I don’t know if you can count that as the light at the end of the tunnel or not!

The most recent hurdle has been dehydration. Before that, it was that stubborn infection! She kept spiking a fever even after her antibiotics. I’m just keeping my fingers crossed she doesn’t get c-diff. But dehydration is what we’re looking at now, so we’re stuck here for at least a couple more days while she gets some IV fluids. Our favorite.

For once I’m glad for Sarah’s lack of mobility–she’s still bored here, but at least she’s not a toddler who is accustomed to running around. We haven’t had to modify her activities too much, even though I think she misses having floor time, and of course, going out and seeing all the sights and sounds.

But this is not forever.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “I was going to be discharged from the hospital once. And then I took an arrow to the knee.

  1. No, it’s not forever, but keeping you both occupied must be quite a challenge. Hope you get to go home soon.

    • I’ve been using a combination of my phone and books to keep me busy in the time that I’m not entertaining her. I’m kind of wanting to see if I can bring her exersaucer in. We do therapy and read lots of books and cuddle/sing songs but God it’s boring in here…

Leave a Reply

