Sarah Defies Gravity

what one little chromosome taught me about love, life, and defying gravity.

Fuck you, cancer.

You hear that? I’m calling you out. By name.

Fuck you, cancer. I hate you.

I hate you for taking over my daughter’s body, for making yourself a part of our lives. I hate you for introducing us to the world of hospital stays and cytotoxic chemicals and a tube in my daughter’s nose and down her throat so she can eat. I hate you for preying on the most vulnerable, on those who can’t defend themselves. I hate you for trying to destroy us.

But you won’t.

I hate you, cancer, but I do not fear you. I will not let you own us. I will not let you destroy us. And neither will Sarah. Because you can damage her body, but you will never damage her spirit. She might be less than a year old, she might weigh less than 20 pounds, she may be small and delicate-looking, but brave things come in small packages, and there’s only one thing in this world that I’m sure of: she’s going to kick your ass.

So fuck you.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Fuck you, cancer.

  1. Bravo! Can’t wait to see all the ass-kicking you’ll both be doing.

  2. Sarah, you will continue to inspire us all!

  3. Sarah Head on said:

    Hi, my name is Sarah and I came across your blog while searching Down syndrome, I have a 5 year old son named Braeden who has DS. I have read your whole beautiful story, smiling through tears, touched on so many levels! I want you to know we are sending extra strength and love for your amazing princess~ Fuck cancer is right, kick its ass Sarah!!!!!!!!

  4. adriana love on said:

    Sing it!!! Shout it from the mountain tops!!! Speak the truth!!! That fucking cancer is going down!!! Sarah will be doing the victory dance soon…I know it, so do you đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

