Sarah Defies Gravity

what one little chromosome taught me about love, life, and defying gravity.

Divine Intervention

I don’t necessarily believe in God. I was a Christian for a number of years, and while I don’t necessarily harbor any negative feelings or resentment for the idea of religion itself, it’s not something I’m interested in, and I lack any kind of faith necessary for religious beliefs. Or so I say.

There’s a lot of me that wonders if Sarah’s existence was not some kind of divine intervention.  By all accounts, it wasn’t the “right” time for us to have a child, and it certainly wasn’t the “right” time to end up in the situation we ended up in. 

But it worked. And it feels so natural that I can’t help wondering if this is what was supposed to happen, if this was exactly the right time for some sort of divine intervention to step in and rock my world. 

Maybe this is the reason so many parents of children with Down Syndrome believe in God. I don’t want to be trite, I don’t want to say that Sarah is an “angel”, but it still makes me wonder if her existence was a divine message.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Divine Intervention

  1. Chris Newlon on said:

    I have wondered that many times myself about my little one. Sometimes we won’t know the answer for sure but have to trust.

Leave a Reply

