Sarah Defies Gravity

what one little chromosome taught me about love, life, and defying gravity.

Here I am! (and a public service announcement)

It’s been a little while since I’ve blogged–we’ve been so busy living our lives and doing other things that I don’t usually think about it!

We are doing well in NYC. Sarah is growing and learning and getting bigger and smarter every single day. She sat independently for the first time on Tuesday, we are working on sign language and sitting for longer periods of time. She has started sleeping well again and is a very happy, sunny, sweet, joyful little addition to our lives. I can’t believe that she is almost 9 months old! Where does the time go?

Now, a public service announcement. I chose not to publish the comment that prompted this public service announcement because it was frankly rude, cowardly, and stupid, and I don’t feel the need to give rude, cowardly, stupid people the credit they think they deserve, but they brought up a point that makes sense for me to address, since blogs are often very visual things:

My not posting photos of Sarah is a legal issue. It’s not that I don’t want to. It’s not that I don’t have any. It’s that her mother–who is still her mother until April 20th of this year, at which point, we will move forward having her parental rights revoked–has quite politely requested that I don’t publicly display any photographs of Sarah. I think that’s a perfectly fair and valid thing for her to ask of me, and it’s not something I’m about to violate her trust and disrespect her over. If you don’t like that fact, there is a nifty little red “X” in the corner that you can feel free to click. It’s not going to hurt me any.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Here I am! (and a public service announcement)

  1. Missed reading this! And it’s actually nice to know why there’s no photos of Sarah displayed, although I do look forward to seeing her sweet face if you choose to display her photos later on šŸ™‚ (I actually know plenty of parents who do not post any photos of their kids ever. So it’s an “if.”)

    So excited for you guys for Sarah’s progress! Welcome to the East Coast!

Leave a Reply

