Sarah Defies Gravity

what one little chromosome taught me about love, life, and defying gravity.

Thankful

By Thanksgiving, I won’t actually be able to blog (as we’ll be moving the next day), so I wanted to make the post about all the things I’m thankful for this year today instead. So…without further ado…here it is.

1. Dec

Dec is the longest long shot I’m glad I decided was worth it, because was he ever. The man I fell hopelessly in love with just about a year ago, who said he was not only straight but didn’t want children, has turned out to be the best future husband and father I could have ever asked to share this journey with. I am thankful for his patience, his love of Sarah and his love of me. I am thankful that he is always a good listener, and that he always wants to help–get up with Sarah in the night, take the dogs out, or just do that extra something around the house. He amazes me every day and I’m thankful I get to share my life with him.

2. My mom

Yes…really. I never knew  how much I could appreciate my mother until Sarah came along, and now I wonder how I could have appreciated her so little! She is a special needs mom (and grandma!) extraordinaire, a constant advocate, brave and funny and wise. She talks me down when I’m about to lose sight of the horizon and provides me with a constant source of new news, information, therapies, and medical advancements in the Down Syndrome world. I’m thankful that I have such a good mom, but I’m more thankful that Sarah has such a good grandma, who cares so much about her.

3. my Down Syndrome family

When I first started posting on the Babycenter Down Syndrome board, I was bewildered and completely overwhelmed by what Down Syndrome meant for Sarah, for me, and for the rest of our lives. I’m thankful that the hospital equipped me with the information about this fantastic, knowledgeable, intelligent pack of humans. Because I was introduced to them, I, too, have become a more knowledgeable human, and an advocate for my child and other children like her. I don’t know what I would have done without this group, I really don’t. I’m thankful for them beyond what words can express.

4. Sarah, of course.

What, did you think I forgot her? Of course not. Save the best for last, don’t you know?

I don’t even know what to say about Sarah. I’m so thankful that I was chosen to be Sarah’s father. That she was born with an extra chromosome. That everything fell apart, so I could put it back together.

She may only be six months old, but Sarah is already changing lives, making people better people, both on the Internet and in real life. I can’t tell you how many people have told me that they were profoundly impacted by Sarah’s story, how many people have stopped us in the street to talk about Down Syndrome, how many people we have stopped to talk to because of Down Syndrome, and because of Sarah. Her sweet smile, her warmth…everything about her is perfect, and I’m so thankful that I get to introduce this kind of perfection to the rest of the world. Of course, it’s a tall order, being the parent of something this perfect, but I’m so thankful that I get the opportunity. I just hope I do right by her, and don’t screw it up, so that someday, maybe, she might be thankful for her parents just like her parents are thankful for her.

Other things I am tangentially thankful for that do not in any way involve Down Syndrome:

Diet Coke,  the radio station channels on TV, the San Francisco Public Library, my dogs, Starbucks, Apple (for giving me my computer, iPad, phone…you know…), salted caramel biscotti, sunshine, and whoever invented Annie’s Organic macaroni and cheese.

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Lovely. And happy moving to you three!

  2. Salted caramel biscotti?!! WOW! And San Francisco public library? I love that place too. But wait – SF?! I’m in the Bay Area too – have we met in real life?

    • http://tastykitchen.com/recipes/breads/salted-caramel-chocolate-biscotti/ If you have any baking skills whatsoever, I strongly urge you to try it.

      I don’t know! Perhaps we have! We’ve lived in SF for 6 months (since Sarah was born), so it’s possible…although I think I would have stopped and talked to you if we had met if you had Moxie with you…half the DS community in SF probably has me on their watch list because I talk to EVERYBODY. I feel like I’m going to have to arrange some sort of giant party in SF when we get back in two years, because I’ve missed out on meeting so many excellent people!

  3. I love that library, too! Haven’t been there since 1999 though. I love that city…. And Chris, if I’m ever there when you’re back, I want to go to your party!

Leave a Reply

