Sarah Defies Gravity

what one little chromosome taught me about love, life, and defying gravity.

Back to our regularly scheduled blobitude

Remember when I said that Sarah was rolling, and I was all smug and proud of myself because rolling is awesome, yo?

Yeah. About that.

Sarah started rolling on October 3rd. Sarah rolled consistently from October 3rd til October 11th.

Guess what Sarah no longer does?

If you guessed “roll”, you would be correct.

I don’t know why she stopped, but when you put her on her belly and then try to physically roll her over, she gives you this look like “wtf is wrong with you?” and cries. Don’t even get me started on what she does when you try to roll her from back to belly.

Her PT is not concerned. I am actually not concerned. I’m slightly annoyed at myself for being all gloaty about how Sarah was rolling! Rolling! Right on time and everything! Only to have Her Highness now exclusively want to sit propped up, or lay on her back, and watch the world go by.

I figure that in two years or so when she’s walking everywhere I’ll miss the days of Sarah the Blob, who stays where you put her.

Right?

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Back to our regularly scheduled blobitude

  1. Wow. She and Cora must be kindred spirits. Cora rolled tummy to back for 2 months. Then learned back to tummy and stopped rolling t-t-b. Then re-learned t-t-b and stopped b-t-t. Hmmm. Pattern here? Now she does both, but only in 1 direction. And sometimes she pretends that she can’t. But I’ve learned that with my Beanie, just because she CAN doesn’t mean she will. From what I hear it’s fairly typical behavior. But it still strikes me as a little bit funny. Patience is something I work with every day over here.

  2. I have a 17 month old who is all Ovrr the place and a 2 month old “blob”, and boy, do I love the blob stage ! Enjoy it while it lasts!

  3. I think kids do stuff like this to mess with us. Ella used to roll from her tummy to her back and from her back to her tummy no problem. Once she decided she wanted to try to figure out crawling (which she is still working on. She does the inch worm. She plants her face on the floor and lifts her bum up high and scooches a bit forward) she “forgot” how to roll from her tummy back to her back. When she gets tired of being on her belly she yells for her mommy servant to come flip her back over.

  4. She’s screwing with your head Christopher!!! Enjoy the ‘blob’ as much as possible. My son was delayed in speech and received speech therapy. Now he talks all the time and has an extremely extensive vocabulary. I just can’t appreciate things when I have them.

Leave a Reply

